Effective July 1, 2021, Senate Bill 1134 passed amending section 319.225(4), Florida Statutes, exempting a vehicle with a model year of 2011 or newer from odometer disclosure after 20 years, and a vehicle with a model year of 2010 or older from odometer disclosure after 10 years.
Beginning January 1, 2021 and every year thereafter, FLHSMV will be obligated to continue to capture odometer disclosures for model year 2011 and later vehicles. This type of rolling exemption is best described as adding an additional model year worth of vehicles each January until the 20-year exemption is fully implemented.
With this final rule, beginning on January 1, 2021, model year 2011 vehicles will not become exempt from the requirements until January 1, 2031. States are required to capture the odometer reading for model year 2011 until 2031. Thus, for any title transfer that occurs on or after January 1, 2021 on a model year 2011 or newer vehicle, an odometer disclosure must be completed.
With this rule change, there will be some states that are not in compliance and you may see titles with ‘EXEMPT’ odometers for 2011 vehicles. In this instance, FLHSMV will accept the Out-of-State title, carry the ‘EXEMPT’ odometer indicator forward, and issue a Florida title for the 2011 vehicle.
However, if a 2011 vehicle has a Florida title and the application for Certificate of Title has been marked as ‘EXEMPT’ by the purchaser, the transaction documents should be rejected and the purchaser must disclose the vehicle mileage as actual, not actual, or exceeds the mechanical limits of the vehicle. If you have any questions, you can contact the local Bureau of Dealer Services Regional Office in your area of sales responsibility.
Senate Bill 1134 can be accessed at https://www.flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2021/1134/BillText/er/PDF