On Sept. 29, Biden declared a major disaster area in nine counties: Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Hardee, Hillsborough, Lee, Manatee, Pinellas and Sarasota. The next day, he added Orange, Osceola, Polk and Seminole counties to those eligible for FEMA aid. Later, Flagler, Putnam, St. Johns and Volusia counties were added to the list.

More than 100 FEMA Disaster Survivor Assistance Team staff members have already set up in hard-hit counties in Florida to help survivors immediately apply for aid directly from the federal government and to identify immediate and emerging threats.

Of note, federal funding is available in all Florida counties for debris removal and emergency protective measures at 100% of the total eligible costs for a period of 30 days.